Julie Bourbeillon

Computer Sciences Associate professor

Department of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science

Teaching Unit: Statistics and Computer Sciences
Research Unit: UMR IRHS (Institut de recherche en horticulture et semences)

Bio

Career

Training

Teaching Activities

I am responsible for all computer science courses at the Angers site. My interventions are listed below.

In addition, I regularly tutor students in different contexts (projects in the context of various modules, internships, apprenticeships, etc.) and I regularly sit on various juries from L1 to M2.

Licence

The topics covered concern the aspects of Information and Communication Technologies and business IT (programming, information systems and databases). These courses correspond to 4 modules in two different curriculums.

Licence courses - "Post-baccalaureate" curriculum

In the first year of the post-baccalaureate course, teaching is centered on the use of Information and Communication Technologies, within the school but also from a professional perspective. The objectives are as follows:

  • Basic computer skills (hardware, operating system, networks),
  • Principles of effective use of current tools (organization of personal computer data, office automation, information retrieval on the Internet),
  • Ethical and legal context of the use of tools and in particular the Internet.

In the third year of the post-baccalaureate course, computer science courses aim to provide an understanding of business computing, to allow effective communication with IT specialists. Thus, the "Programming" CPU is centered on the notion of problem solving, from a computer point of view. The different stages are discussed:

  • Introduction to the principles of problem analysis,
  • Basics of algorithmics as a method of problem solving,
  • Basics of a programming language, to express algorithms in a form understandable for the computer,
  • Iterative error analysis: hypothesis on the origin of the dysfunction, solutions, tests...

Also in the third year of the post-baccalaureate course, the “Databases and information system” course addresses information systems and the place of databases in these systems when they are computerized. Content includes:

  • Computerization process for the company, possible infrastructures and architectures,
  • Essential principles of database design,
  • Basics allowing to go from a theoretical model to an implementation, associated with the set up of graphical interfaces intended for the end-users.

Licence courses - "Post-preparatory classes" curriculum

In the first year of the post-preparatory class course, the “Computer Science” module aims to provide the same skills as the three modules of the post-baccalaureate course. The objectives remain the same:

  • Basic computer skills (hardware, operating system, networks),
  • Principles of effective use of current tools (organization of personal computer data, office automation, information retrieval on the Internet),
  • Ethical and legal context of the use of tools and in particular the Internet,
  • Business IT: programming and databases.

Master

Teaching at master's level aims to professionalize students or provide more specialized skills related to their field of work.

Master courses

I have been co-responsible for the M1 “Project Engineering” module since 2010. This module includes a theoretical component (discovery of project management methods and tools) and a practical component (management of real projects, brought by external sponsors to the establishment, by groups of 8 students, supervised by two teaching tutors). I intervene in the theoretical part. Along with 4 other colleagues, I ensure the selection of projects offered to students. I set up IT tools, connected to the rest of the institution's information system, to manage the module (project management, assignment of students and tutors to projects, etc.).

I co-pilot an optional module named "Initiation to Bioinformatics" for M1 students in Horticulture. The objective is to introduce the methods and tools of bioinformatics from the point of view of the user, i.e. the biologist, by:
     • Presenting the main principles of bioinformatics and the use of these approaches in plant industries (R&D, breeding, etc.).
     • Presenting the methods of obtaining and processing different types of data (genomics, transcriptomics, phenotypics, etc.) in biology.
     • Providing a first overview of methods to exploit these data according to standard R protocols, image analysis software or bioinformatics tools available free of charge.

I am co-responsible for a M2 "Experimentation and exploitation of massive data" module, intended for engineering students in horticulture in the "Plant science and engineering" specialty, "Seeds and plants" option. This module is shared with the Master " Plant's biology". The objective is to make students aware of the diversity and complexity of phenotyping and genotyping data in light of their analysis…. This involves showing them the underlying biological problem and the way in which the data are produced through the design of experimental devices and the visit of platforms so that they can implement the appropriate processing tools (analysis, modelization).

Research Summary

Context

A notable trend in research, particularly in biology, is the increase in the scale at which studies are carried out. This results from the emergence of high-throughput experimental techniques and an increase in the volume of publicly available data. An additional difficulty lies in the heterogeneity both of the sources of information (databases, multiple and remote, with heterogeneous formats and interfaces, various file formats, etc.) and of the data (multiple scales: from the population to the molecule ; multiple types: quantitative or qualitative; multiple modes: text or image; multiple levels of structuring: database fields, markup languages, free text). This makes the manipulation of data problematic, and requires the implementation of specific, increasingly computerized approaches, which are adaptations to the biological domain of “Big Data” techniques.

Themes

In this context, a set of difficulties arise throughout the life cycle of scientific data.

My research activities aim to support biologists throughout this process, by developing methods and tools for non-computer scientists. This involves implementing mechanisms from disciplines such as image processing, data science, knowledge engineering, information visualization, human-machine interactions, etc. This objective leads me to take an interest in various themes:
    • Data creation: support for the conduct of experiments, thus facilitating the acquisition of data, in a context of automation and robotization, of high-throughput approaches (in particular high-throughput phenotyping with imaging methods) ,
    • Data pre-processing: preparation of data sets (grouping, filtering, organizing, presenting, etc.),
    • Data analysis: use of data in response to a biological question,
    • Data storage: management of scientific data, associated with the problem of their representation to facilitate both their integration and their use,
    • Data sharing: provision of data in public banks, choice of characteristics to be shared, exchange formats,
    • Data integration: Combination and exploitation of data from new perspectives.

Projects

I carry out this work within the ImHorPhen team at IRHS. They have registered or are part of various research projects:

  • PAYTAL (2011-2015)
  • Verger de demain (2011-2015)
  • AI-Fruit (2012-2016)
  • CRB FraPeR et Apiacées (2014-2016)
  • GRIOTE (2014-2018)
  • ANANdb (2015-2016)
  • EUCLEG (2017-2021)
  • DIVIS (2018-2021)

Publications

Software

I am involved in the development of several software whose source code is made available on the forgemia forge of INRAe.

The IRHS bioinformatics team develops tools for the management of biological data, developments to which I am contributing. Thus, ELVIS (Experiment and Laboratory on Vegetal Information System) brings together the databases and server layer common to the various data management / processing tools developed in the team. ELVIS takes the form of a PostgreSQL database and a data access web service layer developed in Python. ELVIS is broken down into a set of thematic modules. Several business applications developed by the team are based on ELVIS.

The ELVIS project page on ForgeMIA

PREMS is the business application oriented towards laboratory management based on ELVIS. PREMS consists of a set of bricks including the management of projects, samples and experimental results.

The PREMS project page on ForgeMIA

Elterm is the terminology management application based on ELVIS.

In ELVIS, the content of many fields is controlled by lists of possible values, which are generally derived from terminologies:

  • recognized domain terminologies, possibly derived from publicly available taxonomies or ontologies (Plant Ontology, Crop Ontology, etc.)
  • specific terminologies that we can consider disseminating

We therefore store a set of terminologies each covering a theme: morphology of organisms, development stages, growth conditions, etc. The general principle of what we want to store is similar to what is found in standard representations of terminologies in XML format like TermBase Exchange, but in the form of a database. Elterm provides a set of graphical interfaces allowing users to manipulate terminologies stored in ELVIS.

The ELTerm project page on ForgeMIA

Publications

My productions on HAL

Julie Bourbeillon

Enseignant-chercheur en informatique

Département Statistique et informatique

Unité pédagogique : Statistique et informatique
Unité de recherche : UMR IRHS (Institut de recherche en horticulture et semences)

Parcours

Carrière

Formation

Activités d'enseignement

Je suis responsable de l'ensemble des enseignements d'informatique sur le site d'Angers. Mes interventions sont répertoriées ci-dessous.

En complément, je suis régulièrement tutrice d'étudiants dans différents contextes (projets spécifiques d'une UC, stages, apprentissage, etc.) et je fais régulièrement parti de divers jurys du L1 au M2.

Licence

Les thèmes abordés concernent les aspects Technologies de l'Information et de la Communication et informatique d'entreprise (programmation, systèmes d'information et bases de données). Ces enseignements correspondent à 4 UC dans deux cursus différents.

Enseignements Niveau Licence - Cursus « post-bac »

En première année du cursus post-bac, l'enseignement est centré sur l'usage des Technologies de l'Information et de la Communication, au sein de l'établissement mais aussi dans une perspective professionnelle. Les objectifs sont les suivants :

  • Connaissances de base en informatique (matériel, système d'exploitation, réseaux),

  • Principes d'une utilisation efficace des outils courants (organisation des données informatiques personnelles, bureautique, recherche d'information sur Internet),

  • Contexte déontologique et juridique de l'usage des outils et en particulier d'internet.

En troisième année du cursus post-bac, les enseignements d'informatique visent à apporter une compréhension de l'informatique d'entreprise, pour permettre une communication efficace avec des informaticiens. Ainsi, l'UC « Programmation » est centrée sur la notion de résolution de problème, d'un point de vue informatique. Les différentes étapes sont abordées :

  • Introduction aux principes de l'analyse d'un problème,

  • Bases de l'algorithmique comme méthode de résolution de problème,

  • Bases d'un langage de programmation, pour exprimer des algorithmes sous une forme compréhensible pour l'ordinateur,

  • Analyse itérative d'erreurs : hypothèse sur l'origine du dysfonctionnement, solutions, tests...

Toujours en troisième année du cursus post-bac, l'UC « Bases de données et système d'information » aborde les systèmes d'information et la place des bases de données dans ces systèmes lorsqu'ils sont informatisés. Le contenu inclut :

  • Démarche d'informatisation pour l'entreprise, infrastructures et architectures possibles,

  • Principes essentiels de conception de bases de données,

  • Bases permettant de passer d'un modèle théorique à une implémentation, associée à la mise en place d'interfaces graphiques à destination des utilisateurs.

Enseignements Niveau Licence - Cursus « post-prépa »

En première année du cursus post-prépa, l'UC « Informatique » visent à apporter les mêmes compétences que les trois UC du cursus post-bac. Les objectifs restent les mêmes :

  • Connaissances de base en informatique (matériel, système d'exploitation, réseaux),

  • Principes d'une utilisation efficace des outils courants (organisation des données informatiques personnelles, bureautique, recherche d'information sur Internet),

  • Contexte déontologique et juridique de l'usage des outils et en particulier d'internet,

  • Informatique d'entreprise : programmation et bases des données.

Master

Les enseignements de niveau master visent à une professionnalisation des étudiants ou apportent des compétences plus spécialisées en lien avec leur domaine métier.

Enseignements Niveau Master

Je suis co-responsable de l'UE de M1 « Ingénierie de Projet » depuis 2010. Cette UE inclut un volet théorique (découverte des méthodes et outils de gestion de projet) et pratique (conduite de projets réels, apportés par des commanditaires extérieurs à l'établissement, par des groupes de 8 étudiants, supervisés par deux tuteurs enseignants). J'interviens dans la partie théorique en CM et TD. J'assure avec 4 autres collègues la sélection des projets proposés aux étudiants. J'ai mis en place des outils informatiques, connectés au reste du système d'information de l'établissement, pour gérer l'UE (gestion des projets, affectation de étudiants et tuteurs aux projets, etc.).

Je co-pilote une UC au choix d'« Initiation à la Bioinformatique » à destination des M1 en Horticulture. L'objectif est de faire découvrir les méthodes et outils de bioinformatique du point de vue de l'usager, c'est-à-dire le biologiste, en :
    • Présentant les grands principes de la bioinformatique et l’usage de ces approches dans les filières du végétal (R&D, sélection, etc.).
    • Présentant les méthodes d’obtention et de traitement de différents types de données (génomiques, transcriptomiques, phénotypiques, etc.) en biologie.
    • Fournissant un premier aperçu des méthodes pour exploiter ces données selon les protocoles R standard, des logiciels d'analyse d'image ou les outils de bioinformatique disponibles gratuitement.

Je suis co-responsable d'une UE de M2 "Expérimentation et exploitation de données massives", à destination des élèves ingénieurs en horticulture de la spécialité "Sciences et ingénierie du végétal", option "Semences et plants", mutualisée avec le Master "Biologie Végétale". L'objectif est de faire connaître aux étudiants la diversité et la complexité des données de phénotypage et génotypage pour leur exploitation…. Il s'agit de leur montrer le problème biologique sous-jacent et la manière dont les données sont produites à travers la conception de dispositifs expérimentaux et la visite de plateformes pour qu'ils puissent mettre en œuvre les outils d’exploitation adéquats (analyse, modélisation).

Thèmes de recherche

Contexte

Une tendance notable de la recherche, en particulier biologique, est l'accroissement de l'échelle à laquelle sont réalisées les études. Celle-ci résulte de l'émergence de techniques expérimentales à haut débit et d'une augmentation du volume de données publiquement disponibles. Une difficulté complémentaire réside dans l'hétérogénéité tout à la fois des sources d'information (banques de données, multiples et distantes, aux formats et interfaces hétérogènes, fichiers variés, etc) et des données (multiples échelles : de la population à la molécule ; multiples natures : quantitative ou qualitative ; multiples modes : texte ou image ; multiples niveaux de structuration : champs de base de données, structuration par balises, texte libre). Ceci rend problématique la manipulation des données, qui nécessite la mise en place d'approches spécifiques, de plus en plus informatisées, adaptations au domaine biologique de techniques du « Big Data ».

Thématiques

Dans ce contexte, un ensemble de difficultés se pose tout au long du cycle de vie de la donnée scientifique.

Mes activités de recherche visent à accompagner les biologistes tout au long de ce processus, par le développement de méthodes et outils à destination de scientifiques non informaticiens. Ceci implique de mettre en œuvre des mécanismes relevant de disciplines telles que le traitement d’image, la science des données, l'ingénierie des connaissances, la visualisation d'information, les interactions homme-machine, etc. Cet objectif me conduit à m'intéresser à diverses thématiques :
    • Création : accompagnement de la conduite d'expériences, facilitant ainsi l'acquisition de données, dans un contexte d’automatisation et de robotisation, d’approches haut-débit (en particulier phénotypage à haut-débit avec des méthodes d'imagerie),
    • Traitement : préparation des jeux de données (regrouper, filtrer, organiser, présenter, etc.),
    • Analyse : exploitation de données en réponse à une question biologique,
    • Stockage : gestion de données scientifiques, associée au problème de leur représentation pour faciliter tout à la fois leur intégration et leur exploitation,
    • Partage : mise à disposition de données dans des banques publiques, choix des caractéristiques à partager, formats d’échange,
    • Intégration : Combinaison et exploitation de données selon des perspectives nouvelles.

Projets

Je réalise ces travaux au sein de l'équipe ImHorPhen de l'IRHS. Ils se sont inscrits ou s'inscrivent dans le cadre de divers projets de recherche :

  • PAYTAL (2011-2015)

  • Verger de Demain (2011-2015)

  • AI-Fruit (2012-2016)

  • CRB FraPeR et Apiacées (2014-2016)

  • GRIOTE (2014-2018)

  • ANANdb (2015-2016)

  • EUCLEG (2017-2021)

  • DIVIS (2018-2021)

Productions

Logiciels

Je suis impliquée dans le développement de plusieurs logiciels dont le code source est mis à disposition sur la forge forgemia de l'INRAe.

L'équipe bioinfomatique de l'IRHS développe des outils dans ce sens, développements auxquels je contribue. Ainsi, ELVIS (Experiment and Laboratory on Vegetal Information System) regroupe les base de données et couche serveur communes aux différents outils de gestion / traitement de données développés dans l'équipe. ELVIS se présente sous la forme d'une base de données PostgreSQL et une couche service web d'accès aux données développée en Python. ELVIS est décomposé en un ensemble de modules thématiques. Plusieurs applications métier développées par l'équipe reposent sur ELVIS.

La page du projet ELVIS sur ForgeMIA

PREMS est l'application métier orientée vers la gestion de laboratoire qui repose sur ELVIS. PREMS se compose en un ensemble de briques incluant la gestion des projets, des échantillons, des résultats expérimentaux.

La page du projet PREMS sur ForgeMIA

Elterm est l'application de gestion de terminologie qui repose sur ELVIS.

Dans ELVIS, le contenu de nombreux champs est contrôlé par des listes de valeurs possibles, qui sont généralement issues de terminologies :

  • terminologies du domaine reconnues, éventuellement issues de taxonomies ou d'ontologies disponibles publiquement (Plant Ontology, Crop Ontology, etc.)
  • terminologies spécifiques que nous pouvons envisager de diffuser

Nous stockons donc un ensemble de terminologies couvrant chacune un thème : morphologie des organismes, stades de développement, conditions de culture, etc. Le principe général de ce qu'on veut stocker est similaire à ce qui se trouve dans les représentations standard de terminologies au format XML type TermBase Exchange, mais sous la forme de base de données. Elterm fournit un ensemble d'interfaces graphiques permettant aux utilisateurs de manipuler des terminologies stockées dans ELVIS.

La page du projet ELTerm sur ForgeMIA